It’s the little things

The whole reason I started this blog was to view the changes in my lifestyle post PhD. The scene has been set. Unlike some people I absolutely loved the topic I researched over the 3 and a bit years. I used to go out Thursday and Saturday nights downtown, and I would be out most other days between volleyball and just chilling at home or with friends. As my work started to consume my soul, I knew that I would have to lose some things to make it work. My social life took a whack, although in hindsight, it was a sincere blessing (wrong crowd kinda thing).

When I started college originally I heard of the fresher 15, thinking it was a lie. Thankfully I avoided it, until my PhD. I had to drop most activities to fit in extra work time, and then because I couldn’t afford gym membership etc. It’s very easy to get into a routine and become a creature of habit, as it is to be lazy. A little too easy. Now on the other side I’m going to try to reverse this, try to be more adventurous and outgoing, and to try to get a smidgen of my personality out there.

So, when the opportunity came to go to Czech Republic, I couldn’t say no. It was a crazy idea to move to eastern Europe when there’s an influx of eastern Europeans at home! All I can say is sometimes, it really pays off to break the mould, and to get out there and to do something bizzarre 🙂

Image

Prague, one of the most beautiful cities I’ve ever seen.

Step 1: Get the hell out of DODGE!

Step 2: Where to start?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

