Step 3: Change the outside

So we have settled into our new home. During my PhD I gained about 20 lbs (~10 kg). Two things made this possible; diet and exercise, which seems pretty obvious. I tried weightwatchers, I tried the gym, with limited success. I accepted that for now this was how I was, I was too busy writing all day every day for 3 months, eating 700 cal/day. Until the other day, I walked by a mirror and caught a glimpse of myself. I stopped, and with disgrace in my heart I saw what I had become. When I was a teen I had a bit of an eating disorder, nothing major like anorexia nervosa or bulimia, but I was definately conscious about my weight. I was happy with my weight when I was 21 or 22, but it got out of hand not long after that. 

Blah blah blah, weh weh weh, ok. Done. So what now? I said “F*ck it, it’s now or never”. If I didn’t commit to something now, how could I ever be sure I would do it in the future. So now, the carb addict has started Atkins, why not. I’m now on day 6. I have actually lost some of the blubber! It’s actually working! 

The one thing I like about the programme, is the allowances you can have in the induction period. For example, I can eat cheese, vegetables, and as much meat as I want! (As long as its within the daily calorie allowance). The first few days were rough, and I suspected I went through withdrawals. Nasty mood swings. Now though, my appetite has changed, and I feel much healthier. All I am eating is breakfast, lunch, and dinner, with the odd snack before dinner. Not much different to before, but its not carb heavy. My aim is to get from a 31 inch waist back down to 28, or 26″.

Image

Thursday’s lunch special, prepared by my amazing boyfriend 🙂

I have one more week left in induction, then I start to reintroduce carbs to my diet, in a controlled way. Eventually I will be able to eat my normal diet again, but being more conscious about the foods I’ve been eating. The diet doesn’t endorse starving, and the intake of vegetables is just so good for you. I have to say so far, I am delighted to have started this challenge, and hopefully it will increase my own happiness (yes I know how shallow that is). I’ll be like my old self again 🙂  

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

