OH dear god what’s wrong with me??!

There’s one thing people don’t tell you about Atkins, and that is the effect it can have on your hormones. I’ve been on the pill for 10 years now, for medical reasons. I can count the amount of times on one hand, wherein something went wrong with timing. When you’re on Atkins, you put your body into ketosis, so you burn off the reserve fat you have. Estrogen (oestrogen) and body fat are linked directly. This hormone is also linked to the menstrual cycle. The Atkins farce can massively interfere with your cycle (EVEN ON THE PILL).

So the dilema I now face? After talking with my doctor, who gave out to me for going on this diet, I have to come off from it. What if I pile on the pounds again? Have I damaged myself in the long run? What will the long term effects be?

My plan: speed up the phase 3 (i.e. introduction of carbs back into the diet). I’ve managed to loose some inches at this stage, and I hope it hasn’t been in vain.

December 2012

Waist: 32″            Hips: 42.5″               Bust: 38″                     Thigh: 24″

Febuary 20th 2013

Waist: 28.5″        Hips: 40″                  Bust: 36″                     Thigh: 22″

That’s an average loss of 2″ off each place!

Today, I made a pizza, from scratch. The base was made first, and then the toppings were added and it was cooked again. I have to say even though it was small, it was super filling.

For the Base:

Poppy seeds

Ground almond

2 Ryvita crackers

1 egg

2 tablespoons olive oil

Method:

Crush the ryvita crackers. Mix all the base ingredients together and mix until a stiff, tacky mixture is formed. Place the mixture into a mould, or, spread out on a piece of tin foil. Bake for 10 minutes (200 C), until the top begins to brown. Remove from oven, flip the base over, and add your favourite toppings. Bake for 10 minutes, and enjoy.

Home made base, home made passata, goats cheese, mozarella, onion, peppers, spinach, and salami, nom nom nom!

Home made base, home made passata, goats cheese, mozzarella  onion, peppers, spinach, and salami, nom nom nom!

I bought lots of nuts, berries, and baking ingredients such as coconut milk (dessicated coconut and fruit bar thingy??), poppy seeds, and almond flour. It should be interesting. To offset the change in diet, I’m skipping every night, and doing some muscle work outs. I’m also drinking 1.5 L of water every evening too.

Every project has to start somewhere, right? There are some really good websites out there where women are talking about the effects of Atkins on their body, I would highly recommend a read if you’re thinking about trying this diet. A good alternative is the paleolithic one, to forcefully put yourself into ketosis, you’re putting yourself at risk. IT is something that should be discussed with someone like your GP.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

